New Orlando Foodie Spots

We Orlandoans are pretty spoiled as far as unique, local food options go. Be that as it may, it is still exciting when new restaurants pop up in different parts of the city, giving you an excuse to try a new, different spot instead of your tried-and-true favorites. Sometimes it’s good to switch it up! The places I visited range from a heavily anticipated coffee shop in Winter Park, to giant pizza slices in Mills 50, and a new foodie hot spot in Dr. Phillips serving some of the most delicious tacos. How many of these have you already visited, or are on the top of your must-explore-soon list? Let me know in the comments! 

Foxtail Coffee | 1282 N Orange Ave | Winter Park

Foxtail had all of the Central Florida coffee addicts dying of anticipation! I have been following their account on Instagram for months ready and waiting for them to open their doors. Upon my arrival I quickly realized why great things are worth waiting for. The space is absolutely stunning and it is evident how much time and attention was spent to make sure every last detail was perfect. It’s warm but bright. Cozy but not small. The coffee aroma hits you as soon as you get in proximity of the coffee shop. The coffee lived up to all the hype – my cortado was smooth but packed a good punch of caffeine, and I returned a day later for a latte that was also perfect. Pastries are also offered, as are bottles of their sought after cold brew.

Bartaco | 7600 Dr. Phillips Blvd, Ste 28 | Dr. Phillips

Bartaco was a recommendation from Stephanie, my fellow writer and taco loving friend. This restaurant had been all over my Instagram feed. The aesthetic was gorgeous and the tacos looked amazing, so that meant we had to go investigate and we were not disappointed in the slightest. I have to admit that sometimes I’m hesitant to try the “trendy” new spots because the food doesn’t always live up to the hype but not only was every item we ordered impressive, the atmosphere and service was just as outstanding. The tacos are priced reasonably compared to others I’ve visited but are a little on the small side, which just means you don’t have to feel guilty if you eat four. Also, try the fried plantains. They are served with this sauce that is almost their version of a sour cream, and it’s all kinds of perfect. Oh, and churros because we are adults and we deserve treats.

Lazy Moon Pizza | 1011 E Colonial Dr | Mills 50

Following in the footsteps of its UCF location, Lazy Moon opened a pizza shop on Mills 50, making this district my favorite for lunch options. I don’t think I’ll have to say much to sell you on Lazy Moon. They have giant pizza slices, and not just your regular cheese and pepperoni. They are known for their unique flavor combinations, with The Buff (Red Sauce, Blue Cheese Crumbles, Buffalo Chicken, Buffalo Sauce, Baked Ranch) and El Fidel (Mustard base, Mojo pork, Ham, Dill Pickle Slices, Mozzarella) being fan favorites. They also have a full bar and are open late Friday and Saturday nights, and that along with games and the fun atmosphere they have make it the perfect hang out spot.

Create Your Nature | 1284 Orange Ave | Winter Park

Beautiful acai (a-sah-ee) bowls aside, this place is a welcome nutritious option for me in my sea of pizza and donuts. There are various selections of colorful fruit and greens mixtures, from the Coastal to my choice the Bowl-ando, which I just had to get to show love to my beautiful city. The acai’s smoothness paired perfectly with the creamy banana pieces and the sweet and crunchy granola topping. Oatmel bowls, salads, and organic juices are also available at this beautiful shop which sits conveniently next door to Foxtail Coffee.

The Pie | 2429 Edgewater Dr | College Park

The Pie specializes in Pizza al Taglio, or by the cut, which is baked in rectangular trays and cut into square slices – a style of pizza I wasn’t familiar with. The sauce is a little on the sweeter side, different than what I’m used to but delicious nonetheless. I was told I couldn’t visit The Pie without trying the ricotta topped meatballs and that was a great recommendation – these are definitely the star of show. This pizza spot is a great addition to College Park’s well rounded local food options.

 

4 thoughts on “New Orlando Foodie Spots

  1. Love this!! I need to get to Lazy Moon asap. Also, your Bartaco pics came out amazing. I’ll have to return to Foxtail sometime to try the latte, especially since Florida has yet to get the memo about it being Winter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

